Well, today when I was contemplating the various topics on which I could do my post on, the first good thing that hit my mind was making a collage of all the colorful and eye-catching flowers having a carnival in our veranda, as well as, the backyard. So I took up my lil companion and went on to click a big bunch of almost all possible live colors I could lay my eyes on. Some of my best unedited clicks have been jumbled in this wall. And for a brief reference, here are their names and some details in the order of their position: –

1. The so called Lucky Bamboo Shoot, which my mom grows at home. They really survive well in plain water (grows well in soil) and once you know the trick of growing them yourself, you can save some of your pocket money and earn good luck for free! πŸ˜‰

2. – 9. & . All of these are breathtaking Angel’s Trumpets (for obvious reasons) or Brugmansias. But contrary to their beauty and glorifying name, they hold a bad reputation of causing intoxication in humans/ animals if ingested because of their high poison content. They are said to cause zombification sometimes and also rupture the sight. Whatsoever, as far as, you are sane enough to not cross the line you are ordained to capture these beauties forever.. πŸ™‚

10. 16. & 18. The Bouganvilleas. One of the most popular and common ornamental plants. Though all these three are of different breeds.

11. & 13. Devil’s Trumpet or Devil’s Weed or more commonly known as Datura in India is said to be related to the Angel’s Trumpet. While the Angels look down on the Devils with despise, the Devils uncannily look straight up into their rebels’ face. But in terms of damage, they are no less than their counterparts as the high hallicogen contents have been proved to cause deliriousness and sometimes death too. But then in Hindu religion these flowers hold a special place, as they are offered and much preferred while offering puja to Lord Shiva.

12. The pomegranate bud, which blooms away (so decorously) to become the real pome fruit. Though I am not much of a fan of this fruit, it is said to be good source of Vit C, folic acid and numerous anti-oxidants and help control heart diseases, arthritis, Alzheimer’s disease, bad LDL and so on.

14. Mustard flowers blooming in the backyard is pretty common in any garden lover/ farmer’s yard. No extra info needed presumed.

15. I really don’t know what these cute little babies are called in any other language other mine. What we do with these plants are that we use the leaves for curry preparation exclusively with pork meat (inclusive of the fat). Since they taste bitter hence they compliment the fatty taste of pork pretty well.

17. These amazingly gorgeous Aparajita or Butterfly peas are supposed to have medicinal (ayurvedic) values, vegetation properties for being nitrogen fixing plants and used in food preparation in some cultures. Now that’s some really useful flower I say!!

19. Lovely Anthurium leaves sans the peculiarly attractive flowers. Also known as Flamingo Flower or Boy Flower (reason unknown to me yet.)

So, here ends today’s flower gyan. Hope everyone starts looking at these incredibly beautiful creations by nature with a whole new positive aspect from nowΒ onwardΒ and help make our planet a universal paradise!! Adios πŸ™‚

8 responses »

  1. suituapui says:

    Wow!!! Such lovely flowers! Wish I had green fingers like you…

    P.S. Thanks for dropping by my blog. I’ve linked you in my blogroll. Do come again.

    • Thanks for the appreciation but the credit really goes to my mum who is a diligent gardener and whose penchant for gardening/ farming has brought such lovely companions in our yard. It really is a treat for the eye. And thanks for linking, I would gladly return the favor.. πŸ˜‰

  2. preepal says:

    Oooh look at the pretty flowers! Haha, I love plants and gardening, and I hope to grow a massive one, one day. I’ll definitely include some of these flowers…

  3. Great to learn you are a flower lover too πŸ˜‰ Well if you intend on growing a massive garden, I would definitely like to follow up for some great captures πŸ™‚

  4. suituapui says:

    They use the butterfly peas to colour the rice blue in nasi kerabu, the Kelantan traditional dish…and also in some nyonya kuihs.

    • Yeah I heard it somewhere about this use in Thai/ Malay cuisine. But I would like to add here that my knowledge about those places is literally nil. The only place I see them is on some food shows in TV and web and man..they look so appetizing. And now that I am writing this, I am sharing this food tip with my mom and she is gonna try it soon with our traditional sticky rice too. Thanks πŸ™‚ I’ll let you know the reviews.. πŸ˜€

  5. Beauty juxtaposed… good in Writing, back to back punch. Keep it up.

    • Thanx fr ur words.. πŸ™‚ btw i did go thru ur site too.. such a voracious writer u r urself πŸ™‚ it’ll take me ages to reach that level!! πŸ˜‰ anyway thnx fr stoppin by πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

