Now that winter is here, there is no harm in sharing a few hot highly rich (in terms of fat content) and lip smacking recipes. Winter, I say, because sometimes people refrain from such hot food in already soaring high summer temperatures. As titled, this one here will be about three of the most loved simple and easy to cook pork delicacies at home. These are: Pork Barbecue, Pork Ribs Fry and Pork Stew. I am going to give a detailed info in this and following posts :

1. Pork Barbecue – Popularly known as Pork Khorika in Assam, these delicacy is popular among almost all tribes of north-east India.

Ingredients : – 1/2 kg pork chunks (inclusive of fat, skin, bones and meat), 1-2 medium sized capsicum+onion (optional), 1-1.5 tbsp pounded ginger-garlic-chilly, 1 tbsp coarsely pounded ginger-garlic-King Chilly aka Naga/ Bhoot Jolokia, 1 tsp lime juice, salt to taste.

Recipe : –

i) Marinate the pork with 1 tbsp ginger-garlic-chilly paste and salt and keep aside. (Marination is optional though it gives a aromatic and spicy taste to the pork).

ii) Dice the capsicum and onion into 1-2 inch/ desirable sizes. Marinate lightly if you want.

iii) Now put the pork chunks and onion+capsicum alternatively in the metallic/ bamboo skewer. (If using bamboo, soak it first to avoid catching fire).

iv) Place the skewers over open fire and keep rotating in regular intervals so that the the chunks are neither over burnt nor under cooked.

v) In the meantime, a complimentary (optional) hot salad/ chutney can be prepared by mixing the ginger-garlic-King Chilly chutney with chopped onion, salt and lime juice.

vi) After about 1/2 hr – 40 mins the barbecue is ready to serve. Now take out the chunks and dip them in the hot chutney and gallop away to an eternal trip to “pork”istan. 😉

P.S – I have heard people enjoying it with traditional rice beer/ any other alcoholic drinks over a relaxed evening get-to with family/ friends in front of a bonfire during chilling cold winters. Aah!! Sounds perfect to me.. 🙂

About mumblesjumbled

Sometimes clueless about things around me and other times too critical about them!! A wishful thinker I am and my love for anything that i can lay down on cosily clearly justifies how much of a sleeper I am. The next material love in my life would be food. Not that I eat all the time and that's what contributed to my rotund figure (I like to believe its in my gene as I was born a healthy chubby transparently fair baby.. :D). Food is something that excites me any time- except those which really dont pass my mimimum "victual" criteria!! Then it goes to sight seeing/ travelling! And of course I can't think of a life without music too.. :) Well that says a lot about me I guess. So, how have you been! :)

Leave a Reply

